Copperfox to release 4-song EP “Haunts” on February 5th

Copperfox to release 4-song EP Haunts on February 5th

Copperfox, a dreamy indie/psych-pop quartet based in Nashville, began in Portland, OR as a duo comprised of guitarist Rory Mohon and singer Lisa Garcia. After releasing a couple of EPs that elicited RIYLs ranging from Neko Case and Band of Horses to The Head and the Heart and Mazzy Star, the pair moved to Nashville, continuing to develop a sound that featured haunting pop melodies over moody chord structures while welcoming new members Andrew Bottini (bass), and Stephanie Kincheloe (synth, guitar and background vocals). After a year together, they found themselves writing in an entirely different genre altogether, retaining the atmospheric sensibilities at the core of Copperfox but now relying heavily on synthesizers and drum machines, which were becoming a growing passion for songwriter Mohon.

“When we moved to Nashville and added members, our sound naturally changed. Where we once had pedal steel giving atmosphere to the songs, we now had synths and that alone was a huge shift in our sound,” says Mohon. “We decided to dig deep and push our sound — Lisa leans more towards atmospheric music, so the transition was not only natural for her, but intentional. It was important to her to have a cohesive sound that more accurately reflects us as musicians and artists.” The band emerged with their third EP (and first release from their new Nashville home), Haunts, full of spacious layers highlighted by Garcia’s chilling and evocative vocals and Mohon’s warm resplendent guitars.

Haunts emerged from a gradual progression of writing and ditching songs repeatedly. “My growing love for synthesizers helped me to look at songwriting from a different angle,” reveals Mohon. With Haunts, Copperfox incorporates new influences — the EP includes two original tracks, the desert-noir of “Warhorse” and the epically evocative “Feel in the Void,” remixed by their side project D’ark, which re-imagines the compositions filled with synths layered on top of drum machines pounding out slow tempoed beats. Both Copperfox and D’ark are driven by mesmerizing vocal melodies and wet guitar. Copperfox is the hero’s journey, while D’ark navigates through the void.

Haunts was mastered at Magic Garden Mastering by Grammy-winning engineer Brian Lucey (Black Keys, Beck, Arctic Monkeys), and will be available for digital download on February 5th, 2016.

HAUNTS Track Listing:
01. Warhorse
02. Feel in the Void
03. Warhorse (D’Ark remix)
04. Feel in the Void (D’Ark remix)

Cover Artwork:

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s